Were you or a loved one injured in a rideshare accident in San Diego, CA? You may be entitled to damages for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Contact our skilled San Diego Uber accident lawyers at Mission Personal Injury Lawyers at (619) 777-5555 to get started with your case.
Our lawyers have been helping injured parties across San Diego get back on their feet again for over a decade. We’ve recovered millions for our clients in the process.
Do you need help handling an Uber accident claim? Contact our law offices in San Diego, California, to schedule a free consultation today.
How Mission Personal Injury Lawyers Can Help After an Uber Accident in San Diego
Financial costs add up quickly after an accident. If you were hurt, your treatment could cost more than you realize–even if you have health insurance and car insurance. The accident wasn’t your fault, so why should you have to pay the price?
Fortunately, the at-fault parties can be held financially accountable. However, Uber accident cases are complex because many different parties might be involved. Uber, the Uber driver, negligent third parties, and even pedestrians might share the blame.
An experienced San Diego personal injury attorney can help. At Mission Personal Injury Lawyers, we have more than 43 years of experience between us.
We’ll use that to your advantage by:
- Standing up to Uber’s insurance company to make sure they take your case seriously
- Investigating to determine causation and locate all responsible parties
- Fighting to minimize any role you had in causing the crash
- Negotiating to recover the full amount you deserve
Our award-winning San Diego personal injury attorneys are committed to helping you win fair compensation for your losses. If you were hurt, we’re available 24 hours a day to take your call. Don’t hesitate to reach out today.
How Common are Uber Accidents in San Diego?
A recent study used National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) data to find out how common rideshare accidents are nationwide. The report found that, since 2011, ridesharing companies like Uber and Lyft have caused a two to three percent increase in fatal motor vehicle accidents in the United States.
The California Department of Insurance and Commission on Public Utilities conducted their own study to determine how common Uber accidents are in California. According to their research, at least 9,388 insurance claims stemmed from ride-sharing accidents over a three-year period.
What is My San Diego Uber Accident Case Worth?
Historically, a big issue in Uber and Lyft accident cases has been proving who was responsible for paying damages after a crash. Uber and Lyft drivers are independent contractors. That made it difficult to hold the rideshare company responsible for damages–and tended to reduce the value of a victim’s case.
Insurance availability has a very real impact on what your personal injury case is worth. Fortunately, the laws in California have changed to give more protection to victims.
Uber Insurance Requirements
Today, California law requires ridesharing companies to purchase commercial car insurance to protect victims in an accident. The value of that insurance depends on the driver’s status at the time of the accident.
If the Uber app is open, and the driver is waiting for a match, the following coverage is required:
- $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for death and bodily injury per person
- $30,000 for property damage
Once the Uber driver has accepted a match, a $1 million commercial coverage requirement applies until the Uber passenger exits the vehicle. Further, while the Uber passenger is in the vehicle, $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is available.
Establishing the Value of Your Specific Injury Claim
Of course, you don’t automatically recover compensation up to the insurance coverage limits. You have to prove what your specific case is worth.
Factors that tend to be relevant in this determination include:
- The type and severity of your injury
- The cost of your past and future medical treatment
- The value of your lost wages and income
- The impact of the injury on your earning potential
- Your future prognosis
- Your overall pain and suffering–both physical and emotional
If you were involved in an accident caused by someone else’s mistake, you shouldn’t have to shoulder the financial consequences. Call Mission Personal Injury Lawyers to learn more about your right to compensation.
What Types of Damages Are Available to Uber Accident Victims?
Any injury, no matter how big or small, can impact your life. California personal injury laws give victims the right to demand full compensation for their losses–both financial and intangible. Financial damages are called economic damages in California.
Victims have the right to be reimbursed for:
- Past and future medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Lost future earning capacity
- Physical therapy
- Specialized care
- Property damage
- Any other out-of-pocket costs related to the accident and injury
You’re also entitled to compensation for your emotional and physical pain.
These non-economic damages in California often include:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Diminished quality of life
- Anxiety and depression
- Loss of consortium
If you lost a loved one in a fatal Uber accident, our attorneys can help you pursue damages by filing a wrongful death lawsuit.
Can I Recover Damages If I’m Being Blamed for an Uber Accident in California?
Most accident victims in California can recover damages even if they’re partly responsible for an accident. California follows a pure comparative negligence law. Under the shared fault rule, multiple parties can be held liable in proportion to their share of fault after an accident. For instance, if you have $80,000 in damages but are 50% at fault, you can only recover $40,000 (50%).
If the insurance company is pointing the finger at you, it’s a smart idea to speak with a personal injury lawyer. Your compensation award can be reduced to account for your percentage of responsibility. That means less money in your pocket.
At Mission Personal Injury Lawyers, we know these insurance tactics inside and out. We know how to stand up for your rights. If shared fault is an issue, give us a call today.
We’ll Fight to Recover Compensation for All of Your Uber Accident Injuries
Like any other auto accident, an Uber crash can leave victims suffering from serious, life-changing injuries.
At Mission Personal Injury Lawyers, we’ll fight to recover the fair compensation you deserve for your injuries, which may include:
- Whiplash injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Head and neck injuries
- Back injuries
- Organ damage
- Broken bones
- Burn injuries
- Catastrophic injuries
- Wrongful death of a loved one
Our San Diego Uber accident attorneys can help with your claim if you were an Uber passenger, driver, or even a pedestrian or bicyclist. All you have to do is reach out for legal advice today.
What Causes Most Uber Accidents in San Diego, California?
According to data provided by Uber, there are more than 3.9 million Uber drivers on the roads today. Any number of things can happen to cause a car accident involving an Uber driver.
Some common causes of Uber accidents in San Diego include:
- Distracted driving
- Stopping in an unsafe location to pick up or drop off passengers
- Failure to yield the right-of-way
- Excessive speeds
- Aggressive driving
- Unsafe passing
- Illegal lane changes
- Illegal or unsafe turns
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Drunk driving
- Drug use
- Defects in the Uber vehicle
Of course, things like hazardous road conditions and poor weather can also contribute to the cause of an accident. Our team at Mission Personal Injury Lawyers can help you find out why the accident occurred and who’s responsible. Give us a call today to learn more.
How Do I Prove Negligence After an Uber Accident in California?
Uber accident victims are only entitled to compensation if someone else was responsible for causing their injuries. If you were hurt, you have to prove who was responsible. In legal terms, Uber accident victims have the burden of proof.
Proving negligence is at the heart of most personal injury cases in San Diego.
You’ll have to offer the insurance company proof that establishes:
- The responsible party’s duty of care
- A breach of the duty of care
- A causal link between the breach and your accident
- The damages you suffered because of the crash
Interested in learning more about how we can help with your legal claim? All you have to do is contact us today to discuss your case.
How Long Do I Have to File a Lawsuit After an Uber Accident in California?
The personal injury statute of limitations is two years under California state law. That means you have to file a claim within two years of the date of the crash to recover damages.
Contact a San Diego Uber Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation
We know that things can be difficult after an accident. At Mission Personal Injury Lawyers, an experienced San Diego Uber accident lawyer can help you get the money you need to move forward. We offer a free consultation, so call our law firm today to get started.