Big rig drivers have a number of regulations they must follow on a state and federal level. If they don’t, they may face sanctions from regulators.
Were you injured by a big truck in San Diego, California or the surrounding areas? Our San Diego truck accident attorneys at Mission Personal Injury Lawyers are ready to help you after an accident. With our extensive experience, you’ll get comprehensive and aggressive representation from some of the finest personal injury attorneys in the state.
If you’re recovering from a truck accident and don’t know where to turn, we can help. Call our San Diego, CA law offices at (619) 777-5555 or contact us here to schedule your free consultation with our truck accident attorneys.
We offer a contingency fee arrangement, which means you pay us nothing unless we win your case for you.
How Can Mission Personal Injury Lawyers Help You After a Truck Accident in San Diego?
At Mission Personal Injury Lawyers, we understand the catastrophic injuries that can result from a truck accident. While you should be concentrating on recuperating, you’re instead forced to think about your financial future. An accident can leave you devastated and your family’s finances in turmoil.
Our San Diego truck accident attorneys can help you through this difficult time. We’ll work hard to get you the compensation you need so you can recover with peace of mind.
When you hire us to represent you in your San Diego truck accident, we will:
- Immediately investigate the accident site and the circumstances surrounding the crash
- Gather all available evidence
- Contact witnesses and get statements
- Negotiate with all parties on your behalf
- Take your case to trial if necessary
Insurance companies are only interested in getting your case off their books. They’ll offer you a very low settlement or find a way to refute your claim so that they don’t have to pay you anything. Fortunately, we have experience with insurance companies and know exactly how to handle them.
Contact our law offices to speak with one of our San Diego personal injury attorneys about your big truck accident. Your first consultation is free, and you’re under no obligation.
What State and Federal Trucking Regulations Must Drivers Follow?
The trucking industry is regulated on both the state and federal levels. Some parts of California may also have city-level or county-level regulations.
Many argue that regulations constrict the industry, but others realize that a vehicle weighing 80,000 pounds driving down a freeway at speeds of 60 mph poses a potential danger to everyone on and off the road.
The State of California’s Trucking Regulations
Truck drivers must have a commercial driver’s license, or CDL, and must be 18 years of age (or 21 if making interstate drives with hazardous chemicals.) The driver must already have a state-issued license in California or another state.
The state requires alcohol and drug testing for CDL drivers with an endorsement for hazardous materials.
Drivers must follow federal rules for hours of service, including adequate rest breaks. In 2019, California also passed a law requiring drivers to take unpaid 10-minute breaks every four hours and a 30-minute meal break every 5 hours.
Routine inspections are a requirement for trucks driving through the Golden State.
Additionally, trucks are required to have on board:
- A fully charged fire extinguisher that is securely mounted in an obvious spot or in a specially marked compartment
- Three properly maintained red emergency reflectors
The Caltrans webpage for Legal Truck Access has a complete listing of the state’s requirements for big trucks.
Federal Trucking Regulations
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) govern issues such as hours on the road, testing for substance abuse, proper truck maintenance, hazardous material transport, and other aspects of truck safety.
Drivers are required to keep track of their miles, hours, breaks, and other trip-related data. They must also adhere to federal hours of service regulations to avoid becoming fatigued.
Big trucks must also follow insurance requirements set out by the FMCSR to operate across state lines. Both drivers and companies must have at least the minimum requirements in case of an accident.
Big truck owners are required to keep trucks in good condition with regular maintenance and inspections. Owners must make emergency repairs when needed. A big truck can cause significant injury and damage if it’s not operating at peak efficiency.
The Electronic Logbook
Drivers used to record their hours and miles in a paper logbook. It worked, but they were prone to errors, and companies could make their drivers falsify records in order to get freights to their destination. That changed with the ELD, or the electronic log device. They have been required since 2017.
These devices work with the truck’s GPS system to automatically record hours of service and other trip data. This includes start times, end times, miles, rest times, days on duty, and other relevant information. They are also intended to enforce compliance with hours of service regulations.
After an accident, the electronic logbook is a vital piece of evidence.
Contact Mission Personal Injury Lawyers For Help After a Truck Accident in San Diego
State and federal trucking regulations are enforced to keep truck drivers and others sharing the road safe. However, some collisions are inevitable and can cause devastating injuries.
Call Mission Personal Injury Lawyers if you or a loved one has been injured in an accident with a big truck in San Diego or the surrounding areas. You may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Don’t let the negligent parties get away with an accident, leaving you to fend for yourself. We’ll work hard to get you the maximum settlement for your injuries.
Learn more about how our San Diego truck accident attorneys can help by scheduling a free, no-obligation consultation.